Morocco’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites : Under Moroccan Sun Blog
HomeYour HostsDestinationsDay TripsToursTerms & ConditionsFAQsBlogLet's Talk

Contact Us Today
Follow Us

Morocco’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites

by Hassan El Amrani on 06/26/15

UNESCO is the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization and among its missions is to catalogue and preserve sites of cultural or natural importance and, in their words, have “outstanding universal value…irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration”. Worldwide, over 1000 places have earned status as World Heritage Sites through a rigorous selection process.

How many UNESCO World Heritage Sites does Morocco have? NINE!

  1. The archaeological site of Volubilis
  2. The historic city of Meknes
  3. Ksar Ait-Ben-Haddou
  4. The Medina of Essouira (formerly Mogador)
  5. Medina of Fes
  6. Medina of Marrakech
  7. Medina of Tetouan (formerly Titawin)
  8. El Jadida (Portuguese City of Mazagan)
  9. Rabat

Morocco also has the following places on the “Tentative List” of UNESCO World Heritage Sites, which means that they are being considered for nomination at this stage:

  • Moulay Idriss Zerhoun
  • Taza et la Grande Mosquee
  • Mosquee de Tinmel
  • Ville de Lixus
  • El Gour
  • Grotte de Taforalt
  • Parc naturel de Talassemtane
  • Aire du Dragonnier Aigal
  • Lagune de Khnifiss
  • Parc National de Dakhla
  • Oasis de Figuig
  • Casablanca

To learn more about any of these amazing places, visit the UNESCO World Heritage website at

© 2014 Under Moroccan Sun, LLC, SARL All Rights Reserved.